

645 South Bascom Avenue San Jose. CA 95128 (408) 885-2204. fax (408) 885-7012

Traffic Safe Communities Network in Santa Clara

TSC Network Co-Chairs: James T. Beall, Jr. Board of Supervisors Santa Clara County

Martin Fenstersheib, MD, MPH Health Officer Santa Clara County

Project Director Guadalupe S. Olivas, PhD Director of Public Health Santa Clara County

Committee Co-Chairpersons: Assessment/Data: Nhien Luong, MPH SCVH&HS Data Management & Statistics

Larry Moore Traffic Engineer City of San Jose Streets & Traffic Division

City Partnerships: Bill Baxter, Manager SCC Road & Airports Traffic & Electrical Operations

Ray Chong Traffic Engineer City of Cupertino

Community Mini-Grants: Daniel Chavez Burbank Community Assoc.

Edith Ramirez Office of Councilmember Frank Fiscalini

Outreach & Education:
Ellen Corman
Lucife Packard Children's
Health Services &
SAFE KIDS Coalition

Pat O'Hare SCVMC Traumatic Brain and Spinal Cord Injury Grants

Policy: Ofc. Rod Krewson Traffic Enforcement Unit Morgan Hill PD

Participating Agencies:
(partial listing)
ALTRANS
Assemblywoman Elaine Alquist
California Highway Patrol
Campbell PD
Campbell Union School District
Child Health & Disability Preventio
Program
Department of Alcohol & Drug

Services

Eastside Union School District
Emergency Medical Services
Los Gatos/Monte Sereno PD
Morgan Hill PD
Mt. View PD
Palo Atto PD
Public Health Department
SafeMoves
San Jose PD
SCVMC Emergency Department
Sheriff's Office, SCC
Sunnyvale DPS

TSCN Staff: Teresa Chagoya, MPH Project Coordinator

Nikki Berces, MPH Health Educator

Tami Meyer Advanced Clerk Typist September 30, 1998

Dear Prospective Applicant:

RECEIVED 0CT 0 9 1998

**PUBLIC HEALTH ADMINISTRATION** 

The Traffic Safe Communities (TSC) Network in Santa Clara County is pleased to announce the availability of mini-grant funding for 1999. The intent of the mini-grants is to offer project funding to organizations that identify traffic safety solutions, specifically targeting strategies proven to decrease the rate of unintentional traffic crashes and injuries.

We invite your organization to submit a proposal for the mini-grant funds or to share this information with any interested organization or community group. It is only through local city and community involvement that we can begin to address local and county-wide traffic safety problems.

Attached is additional information regarding applicant eligibility, content areas, and application time line. *The submission deadline is November 16, 1998.* Any questions regarding the application can be addressed to TSC staff at (408) 885-2204 or (408) 885-2207.

Thank you for your time and commitment to these efforts. We look forward to your involvement with the Traffic Safe Communities Network in Santa Clara County.

Sincerely,

James T. Beall, Jr. Board of Supervisors Santa Clara County

Co-Chairperson,

Traffic Safe Communities Network

Martin Fenstersheib, MD, MPH

Health Officer

Santa Clara County

Co-Chairperson,

Traffic Safe Communities Network

Teresa M. Chagoya, MPH Project Coordinator

Traffic Safe Communities Network